Category Archives: Grenadines

Relax on the Grenadines

Soaring to the island of Mustique

Soaring to the island of Mustique

The tiny island of Mustique is located in the Caribbean Sea and is part of the ridge Grenadines, which is part of a little-known state of Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. This hilly island has a length of only 5 km, and the width of the 2.5, and be it, at the widest point. The highest mark above sea level, is a hill with a height of 149 m.
Island Ridge opened the Spaniards in the XV century, but they are not interested in this land. But the pirates it came at the right time, They lived here for two centuries. At the beginning of XVIII century, between England and France, the struggle for the possession of a ridge Grenadines. Only 1838 Mustique, the island finally became part of the British Empire on the Rights of the colony. In 1969 as a result of the collapse of the colonial system of the island has become an integral part of the new state of Saint Vincent.
And eleven years earlier, Island Myustek bought Colin Tennant, 3-First Lord Glenkonner. He decided to create there a nook for the elite. Part of the island in the area of 4 ha, he gave English princess Margaret, sister of Queen Elizabeth II. Here was built a magnificent royal lodge Les Eaux Jolies, princess who adored.

Category Archives: Гренадины

Отдых на Гренадинах

Покоряем остров Мюстик

Покоряем остров Мюстик

Крошечный остров Мюстик расположен в Карибском море и является частью гряды Гренадины, которая входит в состав малоизвестного государства Сент-Винсент и Гренадины. Этот холмистый островок имеет длину всего лишь 5 км, а ширину 2.5, да и то, в самом широком месте. Высшей отметкой над уровнем моря является холм с высотой 149 м.
Островную гряду открыли испанцы в XV веке, однако их эта земля не заинтересовала. А вот пиратам она пришлась в пору, они здесь обитали на протяжении двух веков. В начале XVIII века между Англией и Францией началась борьба за обладание грядой Гренадины. Только в 1838 году остров Мюстик окончательно вошел в состав Британской Империи на правах колонии. В 1969 году в результате распада колониальной системы остров стал неотъемлемой частью нового государства Сент-Винсент.
А одиннадцатью годами раньше, остров Мюстек купил Колин Теннант, 3-й лорд Гленконнер. Он решил создать там укромный уголок для избранных. Часть острова площадью в 4 га он подарил английской принцессе Маргарет, сестре королевы Елизаветы II. Здесь был построен великолепный королевский домик Les Eaux Jolies, который принцесса просто обожала. Читать далее »